Sacraments Explained

Watch the video below & learn about the Sacraments & why we practice them.

There are seven sacraments which are each in their own sense, a physical sign or connection of God’s spiritual grace and love. The word sacrament means “a sign of the sacred”.

Each sacrament has their own biblical references, in which the Church has procured the tradition of the process and ritual for us to receive these sacraments today.

The Bible explains how Christ working through His Apostles has given us means through Him to minister to the body of the Church. Receiving the sacraments is a moment where one truly experiences God’s salvation and Christ’s sacrifice.

Sacraments alone are not enough to help grow in faith, but the fervent practice of prayer using tools like the rosary and Holy Scripture are essential to develop a good foundation in the faith.

We Clense ourselves from Original sin with


Baptism is the first sacrament and no other sacrament can be received without it. It is the sacrament where we become united with Christ and His Church.

Christ was first baptized to enable us to be baptized. Baptism usually is performed when you are a baby, by calling the Church to set up a date for baptism. Godparents are chosen and speak on behalf of the candidate to reject satan and all of his works.

Through the cleansing in the water and the scriptures, the person being baptized is cleansed from original sin and is now part of the Church.

“Go therefore and make disciples of all the nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and the Son and the Holy Spirit.” (Matthew 28:19)

Receive the gift of the Holy Spirit and continue your journey with Christ


Confirmation is the sacrament that is part of the initiation process with God and His Church. In the Chaldean Church, this usually happens at the same time of Baptism.

During Confirmation, the candidate is anointed on the forehead with chrism (holy oil). When this sacrament is received it enables the person to allow the gifts of the Holy Spirit to be understood and continue to work throughout their lives.

“And when he had said this, he breathed on them and said to them, ‘Receive the Holy Spirit.'”(John 20:22)

Uniting with Jesus’ Body and Blood


The word Eucharist means Thanksgiving. This is the third sacrament of initiation (Baptism, Confirmation and Eucharist).

This sacrament is performed when the priest has consecrated the bread and wine to become the Body, Blood, Soul and Divinity of Jesus Christ and then is received by the parishioner.

It originates from the Last Supper where Christ specifically tells his disciples “this is my Body, this is my Blood” and tells them to eat it and drink it. This is the nourishment that we receive as Catholics each week and through our First Communion.

The sacrament is necessary to continue our relationship with Christ through His Church.

“Jesus Said to Them, ‘Iam the Bread of Life; he who comes to me will not hunger, and he who believes in me will never thirst.'” (John 6:35)

Receive God’s Mercy by confessing your sins to live a more faithful life through absolution.


Penance (reconciliation or confession), is one of the sacraments of healing. This sacrament is where a person confesses their sins to God through a priest.

The priest offers absolution “in persona Christi” or “in the person of Christ”. He acts as Christ in that moment to be the bridge between us and God.

The priest offers us God’s mercy through absolution. During the sacrament of confession, God, through the priest, forgives us of our sins.

The penance that the priest gives us during our confession is to help us make reparation for our sins and rebuild the connection with Christ that is partly lost due to sin.

The Church requires us to confess at least once a year but recommends us to participate in the sacrament of penance once a month.

“If you forgive the sins of any, they are forgiven; if you retain the sins of any, they are retained’” (John 20:21-23)

Build your faith with your spouse. Serve each other and be faithful to each other


Marriage is one of the sacraments of service. Through marriage between a man and a woman, couples promise to serve and build up the Church community.

Marriage is not only a union between a man and wife, but a union to Christ’s love. Couples are called to mirror Christ’s love and service to the Church and their spouse and family.

The purpose of marriage is to build each other up in faith, serve each other and be faithful to each other until death.

“For husbands, this means love your wives, just as Christ loved the church. He gave up his life for her.” (Ephesians 5:25)

For those who have the calling to serve the church community

Holy Orders

The sacrament of Holy Orders is the other sacrament of service. This sacrament is received by those who are called to become priests, bishops, nuns, or deacons.

Through their ordination, they are able to perform the sacred duties of the Church and serve the Church community. This is not a sacrament that everyone will receive, rather it is one that is received by people who feel called by God.

Through pursuing this calling, the person can receive this sacrament at their respective ordination.

“Pay careful attention to yourselves and to all the flock, in which the Holy Spirit has made you overseers, to care for the church of God, which he obtained with his own blood.” (Acts 20:28)

God’s special graces that comfort and heal.


Anointing the sick is the other sacrament of healing. It is administered to those who are seriously ill or suffering. The purpose of this sacrament is to unite us with Christ’s passion.

If a person is seriously ill or close to life’s end, they may call a priest to bestow anointing of the sick for them. The priest will come and anoint the forehand and hands of the person with chrism (holy oil) and recite a special blessing.

The sacrament is a reminder to the suffering person that the end of this life is not the end altogether and that there awaits us Christ’s Kingdom after death. .

“Is anyone among you sick? Let them call the elders of the church to pray over them and anoint them with oil in the name of the Lord.”(James 5:14)